All together now~!

Once I got home from my trip, I whipped up a batch of paper clay and attached the back fin. Not gonna lie, I have been itching to do that since leaving! I’m so excited to see it all together!

wp-1492113463957.jpg

There’s still a few little touch ups to do before painting – several on the bottom, and the occasional hole or rough patch on the rest of the body. This also includes finishing the back hole where the cord goes through, and removing the red tape I used to protect the cord and is visible once clay’d in.

I’m chomping at the bit to do the next part, but I am having to force myself to wait. You see, I want to do some paint swatches before I throw myself wholeheartedly into painting. My friend lent me some iridescent blue that is supposed to shimmer, and it’s best on light colours. I want to try it out on a few different colour schemes – black with the iri-blue, or maybe with white and another blue, before the iri-blue? You see, I haven’t decided what colours I wanted to make, only that I want that iridescent. I also want to see what it looks like, because I may decide against it after all.

Only a few problems, though:

  1. I lack many colours; I have only white, blue, purple, red, and two yellows. While I could mix things together, I really wish I had at least a black to try a base of pure black.
  2. I’m not sure if I want to sandpaper the body down before I paint. I hate sandpaper but maybe the look will be better.
  3. I have no idea where that iridescent blue even is. (Wow, who could imagine with that IMMACULATE CLEAN STUDIO losing something so small?!)

I plan to sit down with pieces I’ve made as try-outs to try out the colours. At the very least, I can get the base colours down and try sandpapering. It’ll be interesting mixing the paints (and then matching it and making enough for a full body ugh). Hopefully, that happens soon. Maybe Thursday (I wrote this that day before I touched any art stuff, and this will be scheduled for tomorrow.)

Leave a Reply

